Sparking Connections Master Calendar

Saturday, November 7

Opening 

9am PST / 10am MST / 11am CST / 12pm EST / 1pm AST / 1:30pm NST

45 Minutes

Welcome, land acknowledgements, setting the space

Pam Palmater Keynote Address

10am PST / 11am MST / 12pm CST / 1pm EST / 2pm AST / 2:30pm NST

1 hour

A keynote from Pam Palmater which centers what it means to do human

rights work on stolen, Indigenous lands. 

The general public can live stream Dr. Pam Palmater's keynote here

Digital Activism

11:30am PST / 12:30pm MST / 1:30pm CST / 2:30pm EST / 3:30pm AST / 4pm NST

1.5 hours 

Connect with fellow activists to learn about and share innovative

digital activism strategies. 

Sunday, November 8 

Book Club Discussion w Farzana Doctor 

9am PST / 10ampm MST / 11am CST / 12pm EST / 1pm AST / 1:30pm NST

1.5 hours

A participatory discussion between participants and author Farzana Doctor on her book "Seven"​. 

Monday, November 9 

Examining Amnesty's Work Through Indigenous Lenses 

3pm PST / 4pm MST / 5pm CST / 6pm EST / 7pm AST / 7:30pm NST

1.5 hours

Join Connie Greyeyes and Nuskmata Mack  for a panel discussion

that unpacks Indigenous perspectives on Amnesty's diverse pieces of human rights work. 

Tuesday, November 10 

Kanata: Our Home & Native Land,

Indigenous Storytelling Workshop w Kim Wheatley 

5pm PST / 6pm MST / 7pm CST / 8pm EST / 9pm AST / 9:30pm NST

1.5 hours

Storytelling is a traditional way of sharing knowledge and experiences

with our peers. Many communities sit around the fire and share their 

stories about world creation, their own history, and how to build a healthy

and safe relationship with nature and other people. With that in mind, 

you are invited to a virtual fire pit for "Kanata: Our Home & Native Land",

an evening with Kim Wheatley, Anishinaabe Ojibway Grandmother from 

Shawanaga First Nation Reserve, Ontario. The evening will culminate

in an action to support Indigenous rights

Wednesday, November 11

The Evolution of Amnesty's Mandate-

From Prisoners of Conscience (1961) to Economic Justice (2021) 

4pm PST / 5pm MST / 6pm CST / 7pm EST / 8pm AST / 8:30pm NST

1.5 hours

Follow the 60-year journey of Amnesty International’s work connecting human

rights violations, which all started with a single letter on behalf of an individual

imprisoned for supporting freedom. This session will present the key changes

made to Amnesty’s work through each of the 6 decades of our existence.

As we walk through the history, we will listen to some interesting stories

from people who were directly involved in those decisions.

Thursday, November 12

Energy Transition - The Ethical Battery Initiative 

5pm PST / 6pm MST / 7pm CST / 8pm EST / 9pm AST / 9:30pm NST

1.5 hours 

Amnesty International is advocating for human rights to be essential

within an “energy transition” to a cleaner world economy. As one step

in that transition, Amnesty has partnered with Greenpeace to challenge

industry leaders to make the world’s first “ethical battery” – a

rechargeable battery that is mined, manufactured, designed,

reused, and recovered without human rights abuses or

environmental damage.

 

This workshop will focus on the human rights issues regarding

energy transition, specifically regarding ethical batteries and the

mining of two key minerals (cobalt and lithium). The workshop will

encourage participants to provide feedback and examine their own

impact on energy usage by having a look at their use of batteries in the home.

 

If you have time prior to this session, please have a look at this following

"Ethical Battery Personal Audit". This worksheet is for personal learning

and participants won't be expected to share results, but completing this 

checklist may enhance quality of discussion and participation in the workshop. 

 

Friday, November 13

Coffee House w Danny Ramadan 

5pm PST / 6pm MST / 7pm CST / 8pm EST / 9pm AST / 9:30pm NST

2 hours 

Share space with fellow Amnesty Canada grassroots activists for a night

of community, connection, and entertainment. Before member performances

start we will be joined for a reading by Syrian-Canadian author,

public speaker, and LGBTQ-refugee activist, Danny Ramadan

Saturday, November 14 

Husoni Raymond, Black Lives Matter Keynote Address

10am PST / 11am MST / 12pm CST / 1pm EST / 2pm AST / 2:30pm NST

1 hour

Co-founder of the Black Lives Matter movement in Fredericton, NB, Husoni Raymond, will speak on the Black Lives Matter movement, Black liberation, and what this means for Amnesty's evolving human rights work

The general public can live stream Husoni Raymond's keynote speech here. 

Indigenizing Human Rights 

1:30pm PST / 2:30pm MST / 3:30pm CST / 4:30pm EST / 5:30pm AST / 6pm NST

1.5 hours 

A thoughtful evening with Harlan Pruden exploring Indigenous ways of being

and knowing in human rights work. 

Sunday, November 15

Strategic Planning: 

Members, Activists, The Plan, The Board …

How Do We Make It All Work Well Together 

9am PST / 10am MST / 11am CST / 12pm EST / 1pm AST / 1:30pm NST

1.75 hours 

Connect with fellow grassroots activists in Amnesty International Canada to envision

Amnesty's near future. In this session, we want to hear from you about three topics:

1.     How do member leaders/activists envision their role in AI Canada?

2.     What do member leaders/activists need in a “national strategy/plan”?

3.     When, How and on What Subjects should the Board communicate and consult with members?

Please join us for a brainstorming session that will help move us all forward together.

 

Critical Voices Under Threat in Saudi Arabia

11am PST / 12pm MST / 1pm CST / 2pm EST / 3pm AST / 3:30pm NST

1.5 hours

Amnesty International's Action Network on Women's Human Rights (ANWHR)

is hosting a conversation with Saudi women human rights defender

Hala al-Dosari about critical voices under threat in Saudi Arabia and

actions we can take in the lead-up to the Saudi-hosted G20 Leaders’

Summit in late November to promote human rights in the kingdom. 

Monday, November 16 

Technology & Human Rights

3pm PST / 4pm MST / 5pm CST / 6pm EST / 7pm AST / 7:30pm NST

1.5 hours 

A conversational interview with Amnesty International Canada's (ES) Digital Activism

Coordinator, Daniella Barreto and Amnesty USA's Director of the Silicon Valley,

Michael Kleinman on the intersection of technology and human rights. 

Tuesday, November 17 

Environmental Human Rights Defenders- 

Resisting Destructive, Extractive Projects

4pm PST / 5pm MST / 6pm CST / 7pm EST / 8pm AST / 8:30pm NST

1.5 hours

Latin America is a dangerous region in the world to defend land, Indigenous

territory, and the environment. In this workshop we will hear firsthand from

two courageous women defenders, Maria Josefina Caal from Guatemala

and Jani Silva from Colombia, about important struggles to protect the

environment, rights, and life itself in the face of resource extraction

projects with destructive consequences for water that communities

depend on. Our goal is to spark understanding and connections to

strengthen our solidarity action.

Wednesday, November 18 

Write for Rights Workshop

1pm PST / 2pm MST / 3pm CST / 3pm EST / 5pm AST / 5:30pm NST

1.5 hours

Share and learn strategies for pivoting Amnesty's biggest event

of the year into an engaging digital format. 

 

 

Thursday, November 19

Trans Migrant Panel

2pm PST / 3pm MST / 4pm CST / 5pm EST / 6pm AST / 6:30pm NST

1.5 hours  

A panel that explores the challenges, resiliency, and community of trans migrants. 

Friday, November 20 

Trans Day of Remembrance

All day

Check here for links to community events  

Saturday, November 21 

Community Warm Up 

9am PST / 10am MST / 11am CST / 12pm EST / 1pm AST / 1:30pm NST 

1.5 hours

Connect with fellow grassroots activists from across Canada on topics

of interest or just to chat with a warm beverage! 

After the Protest 

11am PST / 12pm MST / 1pm CST / 2pm EST / 3pm AST / 3:30pm NST

1.5 hours

Strategize on how to keep momentum for yourselves and others in

activism after the big protest is over. 

Closing 

12:30pm PST / 1:30pm MST / 2:30pm CST / 3:30pm EST / 4:30pm AST / 5pm NST

30 minutes

Thank you, resources, farewells!